

European Waterborne Technology Platform re-elects Eero Lehtovaara as Chair

The Waterborne Technology Platform elected its new Board during the General Assembly of 15 February 2024

Brussels, 15 February 2024

At its General Assembly on 15 February 2024, the Waterborne Technology Platform re-appointed Mr. Eero Lehtovaara as the association's Chair for a period of two years.

Currently, Eero Lehtovaara is Head of Regulatory & Public Affairs at ABB Marine & Ports. As a Master Mariner, he takes a special interest in ship management and operating technology, including energy efficiency, bridge operations, navigation and autonomous ships.

Externally, Eero is ABB's representative to an array of national, EU and global maritime agencies and NGOs. He is ABB delegate to the IMO Green Voyage 2050 Global Industry Alliance and many others. He is the designated Vice President Digitalization at the Board of CIMAC, the International Council on Combustion Engines. In addition, Eero represents ABB in a number of classification societies committees like ABS, DNV and Lloyds Register.

"I feel very honoured with the continuation of my mandate as Chair and look forward to serving the Waterborne Technology Platform and the European waterborne sector through the next two years", Mr. Lehtovaara said. "During my first mandate, we focused on implementing the new organisational structure, outreach activities in different EU Member States, and strengthening the collaboration between the key actors of the waterborne sector at European level. Going forward we will implement our long-term strategy, focusing on sustainability, digitalization and competitiveness, with a view to contributing to a resilient, competitive, and sustainable future, and ensuring that the European waterborne sector remains a global leader", Mr. Lehtovaara concluded.

At the same General Assembly, the Waterborne Technology Platform also appointed the following Board members: Marjolein van Noort (vice-chair, Royal Association of Netherlands Shipowners), Chiara Notaro (vice-chair, Cetena), Astrid Rusas Kristoffersen (DNV), Theresia Hacksteiner (European Inland Waterway Transport Platform), Frank Roland (DLR), Trond Johnsen (SINTEF), Jenny Braat (Danish Maritime), Jorge Quiroga (Navantia), Jagan Gorle (Cargotec).

WATERBORNE TP has been set up as an industry-oriented Technology Platform to establish a continuous dialogue between all waterborne stakeholders, such as classification societies, shipbuilders, shipowners, maritime equipment manufacturers, infrastructure and service providers, universities or research institutes, and with the EU Institutions, including Member States (<u>www.waterborne.eu</u>). The members of Waterborne TP comprise members as well as associated members from both maritime and inland navigation countries, representing about 21 Member States. In addition, the Associations member of the Waterborne Technology Platform represent the broader waterborne sector throughout the entire EU.

Enquiries concerning how to join and become more closely involved in the "Zero-Emission Waterborne Transport" partnership or other activities of the Waterborne TP can be sent to: Jaap Gebraad, Secretary General Waterborne TP, jaap.gebraad@waterborne.eu, tel: +32 493 835 626